To Be Honest

I am not responsible for your assumptions, misconceptions, or preconceived ideas. You are. Forcing what you believe in your head to be right, reasonable, or true on someone else, thinking they should do things in a certain way, or not do things a certain way, is not their problem. Not everyone reasons like you do, let alone, thinks like you do.

You can’t force what’s in your head on others. Well, I mean you can, but you won’t do yourself or that person any good. It’s not beneficial for you or that person to assume anything or consider your preconceived ideas to be true without actually knowing what you think is true. What you think is true or real is different, a lot of the time, from what is actually true and/or real. That’s how we are until we start seeing things, and life as a whole, the way it is and not as we want to see it.

If you want to help someone you have to meet them where they are. You’ve got to make sure that you are coming from their point of view, not from where you are. Helping someone else is not about you, it’s about them. I don’t care how I am feeling or what I am thinking, if I am trying to be a light and a help to someone else I put aside my personal crap. Too often we try to add on our personal baggage when someone is reaching out to us to help them with their baggage.

I guess what I’m trying to say is, see things as they are, and do your best not to make any assumptions. Life gets a hell of a lot easier when you don’t sugarcoat things, make an actual effort to understand people, as well as yourself, and don’t jump to unecessary conclusions. Believe me, I speak from experience. 😉

Leave a Reply

